Faculty Senate

Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate is the elected representative body of the Faculty, consisting of representatives from the four colleges of the university and the library; Senators are the voice of the Faculty. The Faculty Senate serves as a recognized channel of communication between the Faculty and the Administration. The role of the Faculty Senate is to facilitate effective participation by the Faculty in the academic affairs of the University.

Faculty Senate Executive Committee

Past President President President-Elect Secretary
Dr. Claire Edwards Dr. Catherine Walsh Dr. Andrea Eckelman Dr. Alisha Wheeler
photo of Andrea Eckelman

Contact Executive Committee

Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes (2022-2023)

If difficulty is experienced accessing archive content on this page due to disability accessibility concerns, please contact the Solution Center (205-665-6512; or Access and Compliance (205-665-6250; for assistance. Any requested materials will be converted as quickly as possible.

Faculty Senate Roster

Contact Your Senator

College of Arts & Sciences (CAS)
Department of Behavioral and Social Sciences FS Reps: 3
Senator FS Term
Dr. Susan Caplow F21-23
Dr. Andrea Eckelman F21-23
Dr. Meredith Tetloff F21-23
Department of Biology, Chemistry, & Mathematics FS Reps: 3
Dr. John Herron F22-24
Dr. George Lytle F22-24
Dr. Delila Mathews F22-24
Department of Communication and Science Disorders FS Reps: 1
Dr. Claire Edwards F22-24
Department of English & World Languages FS Reps: 3
Dr. Leonor Vazquez-Gonzalez F21-23
Dr.Jennifer Rickel F21-23
Dr. Stefan Forrester F22-24
College of Business (COB) FS Reps: 2
Senator FS Term
Dr. Eric Travis F21-23
Dr. Gary Johnson F21-23
Mrs. Staci Kolb F21-23
College of Education and Human Development (CEHD)
Department of Health & Human Services FS Reps: 2
Senator FS Term
Dr. Daniel Birdsong F22-24
Dr. Shawn Mitchell F21-23
Department of Teaching, Leadership, & Technology FS Reps: 2
Dr. Will Hooper F22-24
Dr. Alisha Wheeler F22-24
College of Fine Arts (CoFA)
Department of Art FS Reps: 2
Senator FS Term
Mr. Tanner Young F22-24
Dr. Catherine Walsh F21-23
Department of Communication FS Reps: 2
Dr. Raymond Ozley F21-23
Dr. Stephanie Dean F21-23
Department of Music FS Reps: 2
Dr. Charles Wood F21-23
Dr. Melinda Doyle F21-23
Department of Theatre FS Reps: 2
Mr. Kyle Moore F21-23
Dr. Bart Pitchford F22-24
Carmichael Library FS Reps: 1
Senator FS Term
Ms. Anna Mary Williford F21-23