Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated ® (AKA), an international service organization, was founded on the campus of Howard University in Washington, D.C. on January 15, 1908. It is the oldest Greek-letter organization established by African American college-educated women. Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Incorporated® is comprised of more than 360,000 initiated members in graduate and undergraduate chapters located in 12 countries including the United States, Bahamas, Bermuda, Canada, Dubai, Germany, Japan, Liberia, Nigeria, South Korea, South Africa and the U.S. Virgin Islands. The sorority’s colors are salmon pink and apple green, and its official symbol is the ivy leaf. Led by its International President, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, often is hailed as “America’s premier Greek-letter organization for African American women.”

Local Chapter Information

The Mu Mu Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.® has served Montevallo since its chartering on July 8, 1978 at the University of Montevallo.  Since that time, the chapter has supported the sorority’s international targets and program initiatives in its efforts to provide service to all mankind. Mu Mu has actively participated in service initiatives that include voter education forums, environmental initiatives, financial literacy workshops, and a number of projects designed to reach underserved and underprivileged populations.


Members of Mu Mu Chapter have historically been campus leaders who have contributed to the positive impact made by organizations like the Student Government Association, the National Pan-Hellenic Council, Order of Omega, and the Montevallo Mavens to name a few.


Alpha Kappa Alpha’s purpose is to cultivate high scholastic and ethical standards, to promote unity and friendship among college women, to study and help alleviate problems concerning girls and women, to maintain a progressive interest in college life, and to be of service to all mankind.

Prominent Members of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.:

Kamala Harris – Vice-President of the United States of America

Maya Angelou – Poet and Novelist

Phylicia Rashad – Actress and Philanthropist

Hazel O’Leary – U.S. Secretary of Energy

Rosa Parks – Civil Rights Activist

Ava DuVernay – Filmmaker


Nickname AKA
Founded January 15, 1908, Howard University
Incorporated January 13, 1913, Washington D.C.
Chartered at UM July 8, 1978
Chapter Name Mu Mu
Flower Pink Tea Rose
Colors Salmon Pink and Apple Green
Symbol Ivy Leaf
Motto “By Culture and By Merit”